

DIRECTORATE:

Private Bag X9043, PIETERMARITZBURG, 3200

Communication

Inkosi Mhlabunzima Maphumulo House, 172 Burger Street, Pietermaritzburg, 3201

Tel: 033 355 8624 **Fax:** 033 355 8632

Media Advisory

Wednesday, 29 November 2023

PREMIER NOMUSA DUBE-NCUBE TO LAUNCH THE PROVINCIAL NEW NUMBER PLATE SYSTEM WHICH SEEKS TO CREATE ONE COMMON IDENTITY FOR THE PROVINCE

As part of creating one, common identity for the province, the KwaZulu-Natal Premier Nomusa Dube-Ncube, will on Thursday (30 November 2023) preside over the launch of a new number plate system for the province.

This is part of the migration from the current discrete numbering system to a new continuous numbering system.

"The new numbering system will come with improved security features, which will assist in the fight against crime. This paradigm shift is important in ensuring that the province aligns with other provinces and the national numbering system," said Premier Dube-Ncube. The changes to the numbering system are prompted by the fact that some of the towns have run out of numbers.

The implementation will be rolled out in phases, starting on the 1st of December 2023 with the registration of new vehicles, change of ownership and re-registration of stolen-recovered vehicles.

The second phase will commence on the 1st of March 2024 with the voluntary migration of all vehicle owners from the current to the new system.

Vehicle owners will be given 24 months to migrate to the new system, thereafter motor vehicles will automatically be issued with a new format licence number, upon the licencing of their vehicles.

Premier Dube-Ncube, accompanied by the MEC for Transport, Community Safety and Liaison, Sipho Hlomuka and the eThekwini Mayor, Cllr Mxolisi Kaunda will conduct a test of the readiness of the Electronic National Administration Traffic Information System (ENaTIS) and proceed to unveil the new number plates for the province.

Details of the launch:

DATE: 30 NOVEMBER 2023 (THURSDAY)

TIME : 07H30

VENUE: RTI PINETOWN (RICHMOND ROAD - PINETOWN)

Issued by the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Transport